MISS VIETNAM

  • Date: 26th of June, 2015
  • Price: VND 890 (approximately USD 40)

When 2 weeks ago I was visiting Anam spa, something special has caught my eye. I saw nice porcelain figures personifying Vietnamese women in their traditional dresses. Few seconds needed I to understand that those figures are bottles, and nothing else but perfume is inside.

I am a perfume freak. I do not dare to count number of tiny elegant vials I have. Even more I am afraid to count how much money was spent for the acquisition of all these vessels with noble scents. I prefer niche perfumery to known and popular brands. If you familiar with names such as AmouageXerjoff, you know what I mean…

…Thus I got interested in what I saw. After short research I found out that local Vietnamese company ‘Saigon cosmetics’ produces the fragrances. According to fragrantica that’s a new perfume brand launched in 2014. On the official web site however it is stated that company is more experienced.

2 weeks later I decided that I need to examine the fragrance by myself. On Friday evening I spent plenty of time walking though the crowded streets near Hoan Kiem lake trying to find the spot.

I succeeded! The small shop is located right on the street. They have some limited selection of local perfumes, and in particular – perfumes from Miss Vietnam collection – bottles, which drew my attention last time. Collection consists of 3 fragrances: Miss Hanoi, Miss Saigon and Miss Hue. I’ve smelled all of them, and Miss Saigon has pleased my nose the most. Unfortunately the fragrance was out of stock. So I’ve decided to buy Miss Hanoi.

The perfume is nicely packed into a grey metallic carton box. The shape of the vial is something memorable. Although the idea of a bottle looking like human body is not new (just thing about  Jean Paul Gaultier), this particular one looks exceptionally good. Tiny Vietnamese woman wearing áo tứ than – traditional dress in northern Vietnam – is made out of white porcelain. The flat hat – nón quai thao – serves as a cap.

The smell is fresh and fruity. The manufacturer is declaring the following notes:

  • Top notes: peach, apple
  • Middle notes: violet leaf, jasmine
  • Base note: vanilla, sandalwood

I may just say that I could smell neither vanilla nor sandalwood, even after several hours. Top notes are a little too fruity and sugary, not something I would really love.

So the best of this perfume is the bottle itself. Perfect present for your female friends. Although the smell could be richer and more multifarious, reflecting the diversity of life and culture in Hanoi. But this is just my opinion.

IMGP7065_1

Leave a comment